1. Online Casino
  2. Gambling News
  3. Top Jockeys and Trainers Durban July 2024

Top Jockeys and Trainers Durban July 2024

This page is written by
Katlego Modise
Katlego ModiseOnline Sports Betting and Lottery Specialist
Fact checked by
Ilse Lotz
Ilse LotzHead of Editorial
according to our Editorial Principles

SilverSands Casino: Get R400 Free Bonus

As we gear up for the 2024 edition of the Durban July at the iconic Greyville Racecourse, beow you’ll find a list of the top jockeys and trainers poised to make history. From seasoned champions to rising talents, these are the names you need to know if you're looking to place a winning bet.

Lists of Top Jockeys and Trainers Durban July 2024

List of Top Jockeys

JockeyLast WonHorse
Richard Fourie2022Kommetdieding
Gavin Lerena2015Power King
Lyle Hewitson2019Do It Again
S'Manga Khumalo2013Heavy Metal
Anton Marcus2021Linebacker
Warren Kennedy2020Belgarion
Muzi Yeni2018It’s My Turn
Piere Strydom2003Dynasty
Callan Murray2017Marinaresco
Greg Cheyne2016The Conglomerate

List of the Best Trainers

TrainerLast WonHorse
Justin Snaith2022Jet Dark
Sean Tarry2018Legal Eagle
Mike de Kock2017Marinaresco
Brett Crawford2019Do It Again
Candice Bass-Robinson2016Marinaresco
Dean Kannemeyer2013Heavy Metal
Eric Sands2003Dynasty
Joey Ramsden2012Pomodoro
Vaughan Marshall2014Legislate
Alec Laird2015Power King

Which jockey won the most Durban in July?

The Durban July has set the stage for many legendary jockeys, but Anton Marcus has set himself apart with his record five victories. His triumphs in 1993, 2000, 2005, 2007, and 2018 highlight his consistent excellence and ability to perform under the immense pressure of South Africa's premier horse racing event.

Other notable jockeys in the Durban July include Anthony Delpech and Piere Strydom, each with four victories. Delpech's dominance includes victories in 1998, 2004, 2010, and 2011, while Strydom’s wins include 1996, 2001, 2012, and 2016, reflecting their remarkable talent and dedication to the sport.

Who is the best jockey right now?

From my point of view, determining the best jockey is very subjective, given the various metrics,  achievements, and even riding styles to consider. However, Richard Fourie stands out as a top contender in 2024. I’ve followed his career for years, and he has built a formidable reputation, consistently delivering stellar performances in major races. 

For the 2024 Durban July, Fourie is set to ride the highly-favoured Future Swing, trained by Justin Snaith. In my opinion, this pairing is anticipated to be a formidable force, given Future Swing’s impeccable track record, having won all three of his starts over 1900 meters.

Richard Fourie’s career is marked by numerous high-profile victories and a consistent track record that speaks volumes about his skill and strategic acumen on the racetrack. His ability to understand and bring out the best in a horse makes him a highly sought-after jockey and a regular favourite at the bookies 

Which trainer has won the most races?

The trainer with the most wins in the history of the Durban July is Sydney C. Laird, who secured seven victories. His wins came in 1961, 1963, 1966, 1967, 1971, 1973, and 1978. Sydney Laird's record is unparalleled in the Durban July, showcasing his extraordinary skill and strategic acumen in horse racing.

Terence M. Millard. Millard’s record is impressive, having secured six victories in 1983 and continued in 1984, 1986, 1988, 1989, and 1990. During his illustrious career, Millard trained over 2,500 winners, including 117 Grade 1 victories, 44 Grade 2 races, and 37 Grade 3 races. 

Recently, trainers Mike de Kock and Justin Snaith have won the Durban July five times, making them well-respected figures in the race's modern history.

If you're looking for tips on making your first bet, check out our Beginners Guide to Betting on the Durban July.

How much do jockeys win at Durban July?

Jockeys at the Durban July earn primarily through base riding fees and a percentage of the prize money. Typically, jockeys receive about 10% of the winnings their horse earns. Race Sponsors Hollywoodbets have boosted the total prize pool to R5 million. Jockey’s earnings can increase with additional bonuses from sponsors and owners, making the total earnings even more attractive.

The distribution of prize money typically follows a tiered structure.

PositionPrize AmountJockey's Earnings (10%)
First PlaceR 3,000,000R 300,000
Second PlaceR 800,000R 80,000
Third PlaceR400,000R40,000
Fourth PlaceR200,000R20,000

What is the biggest prize at Durban July?

The biggest prize at the Durban July is the first-place prize in the main event, the Durban July Handicap, with the winner receiving around R3 Million. 

Sports Betting Expert
Katlego Modise
Katlego Modise

Online Sports Betting and Lottery Specialist

Linkedin IconEnvelope icon

Katlego Modise is a South African sports enthusiast turned sports betting writer. With years of experience analysing teams, studying trends, ...continue reading

Expert on:

check iconSports Bettingcheck iconSoccer Bettingcheck iconLottocheck iconBetting Tipscheck iconPowerballcheck iconNational Lottery
Fact-checked by: Ilse Lotz
As Seen On:
  • Mail and guardian logo
  • Cnbcadrica logo
  • E play africa logo
  • Endorphina logo
  • Thunderbolt casino logo
  • The citizen logo

Gambling can be addictive, please play responsibly.

Phone Icon0800 006 008

PlayCasino aims to provide our readers with clear and reliable information on the best online casinos and sportsbooks for South African players.

Although our reviews and articles are expertly written and regularly updated, they are here to provide information and are not applicable as legal advice.

Keep in mind that local regulatory requirements exist. Make sure you know what these requirements are before signing up to an online casino or sportsbook.

While we do our best to keep information current, promotions, bonuses and conditions, such as wagering requirements, can change without notice. If you encounter a different offer from the ones we advertise, please contact our team.

© PlayCasino All rights reserved

Marketing Performance Media Limited BVI Company number: 2028811

Copyright © 2009-2024

  • 18+
  • South African Responsible Gambling Foundation
  • Gauteng Gambling Board
  • National Gambling Board South Africa
  • Casa logo
  • Co2 neutral icon
DMCA.com Protection Status

We use cookies in order to optimise our site and improve your experience with us. By using the site you consent to our  Cookie Policy.